The Canadian Initiative for Nordic Studies (CINS) was established at the University of Alberta in 1987 to promote multidisciplinary academic and cultural links among the Nordic countries of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, as well as the Faeroe Islands and Greenland, and the University of Alberta and other Canadian universities and post-secondary institutions.

Although CINS’ administrative home is the University of Alberta, its mandate is national and its scope is wide; initiatives from any discipline or industry in which links between the Nordic countries and Canada can be established is of interest.

An endowment (1/3 from Swedish sources, 2/3 from the Alberta Government) is used to finance numerous initiatives, including: graduate (doctoral and masters) scholarships and undergraduate travel bursaries awarded annually, sponsoring of guest speakers and lecturers, and support for local organizations with a Nordic focus, and more.

CINS maintains a cooperative relationship with the Association for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studies in Canada (AASSC) on all matters of national and overlapping interest.

The Board

The Board is responsible for the activities of CINS and consists of academic and non-academic staff of Canadian post-secondary institutions, students enrolled in Nordic related programs, and members of the community with an interest in Nordic studies.

Our Officers

Rickard Enström

Ph.D. (Chair)

Sharon Farnel

Ph.D. (Treasurer)

Leila Ranta

Ph.D. (Secretary)

Hanne Pearce

MA, MLIS (Webmaster)

Our members

Antti Arppe


John Eason


Reidar Hagtvedt


Rodney Schmaltz


Bart Romanek

(Student Representative)

Natalie Van Deusen

Ph.D. (AASSC President)